Final Letter to Self

Dear Kerrie,

Well, I can’t believe this year has flown by so quickly, feels like only yesterday that I was having my interview! So far into my University experience, i have been generally pleased with how things have gone, maybe I could’ve done things better but that’s in the past now.

This first year of uni has been a big learning curve for me, not only with the way in which we work but also living on my own. At first, I was excited about this but then I came to realise that I do miss my family and I do rely on them, and with having come to uni I have gained so much more confidence in myself and more independence. In all honesty, I love uni! I like to be able to make my own decisions and create my own path in life, and this is the first step for me!

I feel so much better being back in a professional environment because I can focus on what I really want to do, making photographs and expanding my knowledge. How we are meant to work has baffled me though and I’ve felt that how I’ve been taught in Sixth Form and College didn’t prepare me at all for University. However, during this year I have had to learn to adapt to a new way of working, it’s been difficult to grasp this concept of working and challenging to put it into practice but I’ve managed it this year.

Throughout the year, I’ve been looking at a wide variety of different techniques and uses of photography, from learning about darkroom and traditional methods to studio and digital based media. This wasn’t new to me because I had previously learnt it during college for 2 years, but to be refreshed on these subjects has helped me. I also feel i’ve developed more by continuing to use these methods. I feel that knowing something before the lectures actually start has helped me speak up more and to express my own knowledge onto others and help them out.

I think it’s safe to say that this course has been a little slow for me but I have enjoyed every minute of it. I feel that I have learnt a lot from the past few months and it’s given me more confidence not only in myself but also within my photographic practice. I want to get out there and try new things and develop my existing skills. By being surrounded by such great students that share the same interest as me, it has given me better people skills and helped me to learn how they work and to work better in a team.

I feel that I have had a great first year of university and I have experienced all the ‘uni life’ acitivites and thoroughly enjoyed living on my own with my new found independence. I’m so glad that I got this opportunity to go to university and not take it for granted as a lot of students do. I am going to continue to build up my portfolio using my skills I’ve learnt and will continue to learn in the next years of my life.

Keep up the good work!

Kerrie x